Earthquake history of Wyoming

Earthquake Information Bulletin (USGS)


  • The Publications Warehouse does not have links to digital versions of this publication at this time
  • Download citation as: RIS | Dublin Core


Forty-five earthquakes of moderate intensity (V or greater) on the Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale (MM) and extent have originated in Wyoming from 1894 to 1976. Many shocks have occurred in Yellowstone National Park, including an intensity VII event in June 1975. the 1959 Hebgen Lake, Mont., earthquake, centered just west of the park, was felt (MM VII) in northwestern Wyoming. Many aftershocks from this earthquake were reported in Yellowstone Park (MM V-VI) through December 1959, and numerous shocks of lesser intensities continued through 1963. 

Study Area

Additional publication details

Publication type Article
Publication Subtype Journal Article
Title Earthquake history of Wyoming
Series title Earthquake Information Bulletin (USGS)
Volume 10
Issue 4
Year Published 1978
Language English
Publisher U.S. Geological Survey
Description 5 p.
First page 150
Last page 154
Country United States
State Wyoming
Online Only (Y/N) N
Additional Online Files (Y/N) N