Tsunami hazards— A national threat

Fact Sheet 2006-3023



In December 2004, when a tsunami killed more than 200,000 people in 11 countries around the Indian Ocean, the United States was reminded of its own tsunami risks. In fact, devastating tsunamis have struck North America before and are sure to strike again. Especially vulnerable are the five Pacific States--Hawaii, Alaska, Washington, Oregon, and California--and the U.S. Caribbean islands. In the wake of the Indian Ocean disaster, the United States is redoubling its efforts to assess the Nation's tsunami hazards, provide tsunami education, and improve its system for tsunami warning. The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) is helping to meet these needs, in partnership with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and with coastal States and counties.

Study Area

Publication type Report
Publication Subtype USGS Numbered Series
Title Tsunami hazards— A national threat
Series title Fact Sheet
Series number 2006-3023
DOI 10.3133/fs20063023
Year Published 2006
Language English
Publisher Geological Survey (U.S.)
Contributing office(s) U.S. Geological Survey
Description 2 p.
Country United States
Google Analytic Metrics Metrics page
Additional publication details